Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in “Candid” Review, Swatches

I had a major “Oohh, sparkly” moment last week browsing in Sephora  when I saw this  gloss called “Candid” from Smashbox.  I remember liking their gloss formula very much but for some reason don’t have a single one in my stash, so I happily threw it in my little cart/box thing (Does anyone ever clean those things?!?, btw?)

The formula turned out to be awesome and exactly what I like in a gloss. Lipgloss, like most makeup is a personal preference sort-of-thing. I prefer smooth and non-sticky. This gloss is on the thinner side but not so thin that it slides around. It’s not at all sticky, it doesn’t have any unpleasant smell or taste (no noticeable taste at all) and it has average lasting time. ( It will transfer onto cups and such but lasted about 2 hours on me and I smoke)

Unfortunately, this will not be the lipgloss love of my life. I guess I like color too much. As pretty as this shade is, it does not show up enough for me. It provides a hint of color and noticeable shimmer, which is a really nice effect but it’s not my cup of tea. If you love natural lip looks and low-maintenance lip colors (this won’t be so noticeable as it fades) you might love this. It’d be perfect over darker lip colors or on it’s own with heavy eye or face makeup. I guess I just don’t love colors this sheer.

The Black Paragraph

If you like bold colors, lots of pigment and statement making makeup, this gloss isn’t for you. If you need something you can swipe on and look nice without needing a mirror or something in the morning, then check it out. If you want to add dimension to a very dark, matte color this would be really nice. I’m imagining it over black or dark matte red or wine. Pretty, no?

How pretty is this color!? "Candid" Lip Enhancing Gloss by Smashbox

3 swipes on my wrist. "Candid" Lip Enhancing Gloss; Smashbox

Bare Lips (in bad shape, I apologize)

Candid Lip Enhancing Gloss; Smashbox

Candid Lip Enhancing Gloss is available at Sephora $18.00

(P.S- I called this gloss by three different incorrect names in this one post. I shouldn’t write when I’m so tired, lol!) (PPS..Photo Formatting is all messed up. Sorry for white space)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

